2007 – The Arcade Fire – Intervention

(The year 2020 marks my 50th birthday. Leading up to the day (22nd November), I’m planning on writing a blog entry for each year, picking a song or an album from then that I love, talking a bit about why, and giving it some context in my life)

Like every right minded person, I was really impressed by the debut album from The Arcade Fire in 2005. That year to me felt like the dying embers of alternative music television and media, and this release was everywhere. Even friends nagged me to give it a go. At first, I resisted – I can be annoyingly contrary when people keep on recommending an album. But when I caved in, I loved it, and was very excited about Neon Bible.

The culmination of my fandom for The Arcade Fire came when they played Glastonbury in this year. This was just before the birth of my daughter, and so I sat there with my heavily pregnant wife, completely blown away by their performance. I loved how excited and in the moment the band seemed, all focused on their performance, working as a unit. I love their passion, and their onstage exuberance, each band member shouting out the lyrics like any member of the crowd.

Intervention was one of the highlights, Regine seated at the pipe organ, the band smashing through this emotional, darkly lyrical treat. I can’t put my finger on what, but there is something within the words to this song that really speaks to me, a tale of misplaced loyalty and commitment to a organisation that doesn’t really care about you or your life at all. The final two songs in their set were Rebellion, and Wake Up, both of which sounded incredible.

I have one blind spot with The Arcade Fire, and that is 2013 album Reflektor. I don’t know why, but I’ve never connected with it at all, only really being able to listen to the title track. I don’t know the reason – I love each of their other albums, particularly the most recent Everything Now. But there is something about the their fourth that leaves me cold. Each song outstays its welcome, dragging on too long, something they nipped in the bud with their latest.

Neon Bible remains my favourite, for its passion and energy. They could never return to this sound – thankfully, they are a band who evolve with each album, but they were incredible then, a formidable live band and wonderful song writers.

Leave a comment